The Art of Silence

Silence is space.

It is a respite from acting who you are.

When first practicing silence, it can be awkward. People expect more chatter, more noise, more feedback. Your internal monitors may churn expecting the expectation of noise.

When practiced in small quantities, it clears the brain. There are so many different ways to achieve this. Swallow a comment that’s not necessary or provoked to fly out of your mouth before your heart has caught up. Breath before speaking. Not shallow breaths, but a pure intake and exhale, a clearing. Smile first and as your smile slowly unwinds, allow yourself to form the words.

You may not just be benefitting yourself, but countless others too.

7 thoughts on “The Art of Silence

  1. Your words “You may not just be benefiting yourself, but countless others too” ring especially true for me today. So in this case, I guess I am glad you weren’t silent. (-; But all too often I find myself feeling fatigued by the almost constant internal chatter of all I want to say and all I think others want me to say. So your gentle reminder fell on hungry ears. And now I will go breathe and practice some much-needed silence. Much thanks. Namaste.

  2. “and all I think others want me to say”. But that’s the rub, isn’t in’t it? I need to quiet myself, despite the words, right, wrong or indifferent, I feel others need or expect from me.

    But then again, I don’t like to chat; I’m a reader; so maybe this is self-perpetuation?

  3. Here’s a good meditation tactic:

    Imagine somewhere you’ve been, somewhere you can’t quite recall. You remember the place and the occasion, but you can’t place specific events. Just put yourself back there, imagine everything and anything you can, from the people to the objects to how you were feeling, etc.

    I do this a lot, and am fascinated at what I can remember if I simply try. It’s all up there somewhere in your head. You just have to fish it out.

  4. Very interesting Jon. We are going to have to give it a try. More often than not, we focus on the breath to stay in the moment, almost typed, to stay still in the moment, but that seems like a contradiction, no?

Leave a Reply

