Spiritual Depletion

Have you ever had moments, days, weeks, months, years where you find yourself in spiritual depletion?

It doesn’t matter to me what you believe in, well, as long as it’s not evil, but you find yourself with a lack of faith in God, the Universe, the Laws of Attraction, basically, in yourself.

Sometimes I wonder whether the quest for different religions or different Universal knowledge is really just a search for a quick fix. If it were though, so much truth would not resonate.

I equate spiritual depletion with a physical depletion. Anger or frustration or sadness is coursing through you, shutting down receptors to joy or to experiencing gratitude in the moment.

Then the next stage becomes, if I am so spiritually developed or enlightened, why did I succumb to this emotion?

It’s not easy always recognizing the signs, the build up of small frustrations throughout the day that bring us to a dark place of depletion. The goal is to recognize when your body is telling you something doesn’t feel good. For instance, I am at my best when I am around children in a loving manner: tuning in, smiling, joking, imagining, playing, hugging. I have no doubts as to whether what I am doing is right or if I want to be anywhere else in the world.

Fast forward: I am on the phone with an adversary. The conversation is not developing as I had anticipated. I hear the excuses mounting and need to count to ten to not shout, “Get to the point. Give me the bottom line so we can end this conversation.” I can hear in his tone and the type of words he is using that he is retreating from prior representations and I have no patience to wait out the excuses. My body begins to tighten, my brain begins to darken, in other words, I am not at my best.

I used to fight and rail against these moments of depletion, read more, talk more, jump around more, but I found a simple panacea, a bridge: silence.

Silence allows me not to beat myself up for slipping in my spiritual goals, it allows me to replenish, and another large bonus, it saves the ones around me from having to deal with my depletion.

3 thoughts on “Spiritual Depletion

  1. Great post. I find myself in just such a moment, spiritually depleted. Blogging and comments left by some obtuse bloggers who just want to argue also spiritually depletes us. I’ve learned to just let it go. There’s no need to answer because someone always seems to want the last word. I let them have it sometimes, sometimes I don’t. But silence IS the right response in many situations. I think pride keeps us from being appropriately silent. Thanks for the thought this morning!

  2. Thank you for stopping by and taking a moment to provide such an insightful comment.

    That is true, pride can and does stand in the way of silence.

    I’ve grappled with posting a piece on blogging rules, but fluctuate because I do believe in freedom of expression. I don’t know why people would need to respond to blogs with only negative commentary, why not move on to something they enjoy?

    By the same token, controversy can spur the evolution of ideas.

Leave a Reply

