I can’t shut up! They stoned a young girl because she dared to LOVE, down with honor killings!

I posted earlier this evening on a tragic event.

I cited to CNN video, and my first comment received on this blog let me know the link was not working.

The original link I provided was on CNN.  I provided it because I was horrified and in some ways felt it was yet another tragic screaming cry to wake up as women.  It appeared the link was removed or moved, but we then found it again with the help of a blogger who posted a comment to our piece.

I went back and forth as to whether to delete the link.  Deleting it would not erase that it happened and people stood by and watched.  But the thought of viewing the atrocity, the mere fact that it could be recorded, that it does occur became overwhelming.  I don’t know what’s right, I don’t know if the link should remain or not, for now, it is off of the post.  Below is the original post. You can read an updated link to the story on News Yahoo.

A link to the story on Care to Connect is listed below at the end of this post.

Original Post

I can’t stand it, I can’t stand it, I can’t stand it……………..as kids have been brave enough to do in front of their peers, Stand Up & Speak Out, we must do. There must be a way.

This young girl’s crime was to “love”. Do you get it? To love, the basis of every damn religion proscribed, ok, maybe there are some I don’t know of that espouse hate, but she loved.

Did you see her, this beautiful human being?

And to think when I was on the way home from work all I could think was if we could just leave the “children” alone, if we could simply let their innocence and pure wisdom blossom, there would be a chance for humanity. If we could just not brainwash them into the dictates of society.

And now?

Now this?

Are you kidding me?

How evil can we get? To kill because someone, a child, a child, dared to love.

I can’t even stand to be in my own skin, living in this world where we encourage it…and yes, we do…we do when women can’t even be elected to the highest office in the “most free” country, and I love this country, I love America and as much as I struggle with suppressing ego, my ego does reign when I truly and freely say: I love being an American. I won the lottery of birth.

Yet, as a woman, that was once a girl, and now plays in a man’s world, I see the limitations, but I also see the possibilities. But what possibilities can there be in a country that kills its young for loving?

I like to close my eyes to violence. I won’t watch “scary” movies, I think they are incredibly stupid to put out that negative message, that imagery, to people that can’t help themselves because they are that damaged by this world and will think it is the right thing to do, to hurt others.

Have I made myself clear?

I find it unacceptable to hurt others. Period.

Watch the video.  A 17 year old girl in Iraq, ignored “local custom”. Security forces looked on, she was dragged from her home, they STONED her, people stood by and watched. Did you see how beautiful she is? People sat with cell phones and took pictures.

An honor killing.

What God does anyone believe in that thinks God would want a child killed?

That is RELIGION.

Not GOD.

She was a baby in this world, dragged from her home, adults, ADULTS, standing by watching.

What will it take for any of us to wake up?

See previous post

See also: Care2Connect

3 thoughts on “I can’t shut up! They stoned a young girl because she dared to LOVE, down with honor killings!

  1. Your link to the video doesn’t work, but with a search I managed to find it myself. It makes me remember how lucky I am to be born where I am, with a little bit of bad luck, I could just as well have been born and raised there. There’s just no words to describe how knowing that things like that happen makes me feel..

  2. The Girl:

    Thanks so much. We updated the link again. Evidently, it was no longer hitting on the front page news of CNN online. We updated the post above accordingly.

    You are right. There are no good words, if any, to describe that this happens in the world that we share.

Leave a Reply

