Life, Liberty and the Pursuit of Happiness

I watched Fox News this morning while getting ready for the day, and first my eye was caught by the spectator jumping over the barrier to jump into the Popemobile and I was astonished that the Pope did not even appear to notice the commotion all around him, is that what they calling being in a state of grace?

A few moments later, I see another story, about a young 18 year girl abducted after shopping in Target in Kansas. The story on Fox News gives us a chilling video replay of this young girl who walked into Target like millions of people do day after day. She went to run an errand and then she didn’t come home.

I became so enraged. I am still enraged.

What gives anyone the right to take away another human being’s right to life and liberty and the pursuit of happiness?

“Life, liberty, and the pursuit of happiness” is one of the most famous phrases in the United States Declaration of Independence. These three aspects are listed among the “unalienable rights” of man.

Wikepedia

Unalienable rights. Seems so simple, so direct, and our Society just can’t get it straight after all of these years.

I will pray for this family and wonder as I do, how many other families are facing similar horrors? Why is there not an answer? Why is there not some way to prevent this? Is it something we miss in the developmental stages, something that could be adjusted? Is it a byproduct of the way we live? I read about the collective consciousness theories, practices, the heralding of the Golden Age returned. I wish it would occur today, right this minute.

2 thoughts on “Life, Liberty and the Pursuit of Happiness

  1. I watched the video, S.E….Oh dear God, and I guess they’ve found her body now. It makes me sick to my stomache….and it’s unimaginable what her family is going through. Rage and horror…

    “Why?” this stuff happens??? *sigh* could be as many answers as their are purpetrators.

    Maybe the question we have to ask is … “WHAT…?” What is my part in helping to bring healing.

    Have you read A Course In Miracles??? It says something about this sort of thing being a plea for Love.

    That LOVE is the only answer to any of it…

  2. Oh Grace. I just saw CNN. I cannot imagine the horror of this family, I can’t begin to imagine the last moments of hope for all of them.

    Yes, I read A Course in Miracles, not all, did not fully study the course. I believe you are right about love being the answer to all, but knowing this could be happening to anyone…tests the bounds of love. No one, no one, deserves anything close to having their liberty, let alone their life, taken away.

Leave a Reply

