Crowd in Texas beats man

I have only one question:  How can this be real?

Digg

BBC

Ok, I have yet another question:

What is this democracy we are bringing to the rest of the world?

We are riddled with crime, injustice, disrespect for ourselves and others.  We willingly destroy our own, whether by getting mad at each other when we think we have been wronged, cut off in traffic or a line in the store, or God only knows what else.  These are all of the seeds that lead to the bigger, worse action.

What is it we are bringing to the rest of the world?

2 thoughts on “Crowd in Texas beats man

  1. SurfaceEarth,
    I was horrified when I read this news. 😦 I mean, the guy stopped for the child to see if he was all right! What more did the people want? It was an accident. I think our society is getting more violent all the time and I’m not sure why. I’m pretty sure that it goes deeper than the simplistic answers most would like to attribute it to.

  2. Mystery:

    Some may say, it is the speed of communication that causes us to perceive there is more violence, when in effect, they may state, it is awareness of violence and not violence itself that is increased.

    Taken from that perspective, we could take statistics, per person crime occurrences, and chart that historically, to the extent either the past or the present yields accurate numbers.

    Regardless, I believe any violence, one act of violence, is one too many. I am often acutely aware of the small acts that create the larger versions, the kid taunted on the playground, racial and social and religious divides, the lack of patience….on and on I could go, but the simple truth is, I feel the seeds are planted, time and time again, and we ignore how large and vast the fields will grow.

Leave a Reply

