Confronting Ourselves: Where the Wild Things Are

I sat here, for a blessed moment or two, doing nothing but seeing.

I saw that despite my attempts to clean up my shelves, a piece of paper had a mind of its own and somehow became lodged between one shelf and another, in a space which served to highlight it: A Novena to St. Jude.

Now I have always known St. Jude is powerful and clever, but this beats all, quite a funny way of reminding me I owe him a few prayers of gratitude.

I sat again, unwilling to pick up the novena prayer, not quite yet, this is my stillness and prayer to me is active in a way mere thought is not.

I had just stopped working on a memorandum, research, the pursuit of questions without quantifiable answers, but whose answers, when found exonerate or impose liability and to be frank, I was done, I was “still”.

So I continued to stare thinking about a series of email exchanges regarding how much is too much, when does thought and excavating the past liberate us and when does it encumber us?

My eye glanced to a lovely book, an older version: Little Pictures of Japan. And I was drawn to its cover and wanted to jump in and indulge myself in its ability to take the complex and make it simple but I didn’t.

I continued to sit and stare.

My mind became drawn to a book: Where the Wild Things Are, by Maurice Sendak. One of my absolute favorites from childhood.

I stood up, I picked it up, walked back to my chair and sat down.

I love it just as much today: the child on a journey, confronting and meeting his fears, and regarding them unblinking.

Yes. It was the perfect ending to that line of thought if I had not just stepped outside afterward and for the second time today heard a long forgotten song playing from a neighbor’s home which propelled me to view myself remotely as a beautiful and pure child and to want to smother that child with kisses and thank her for her dreams, for her courage to believe, for her vision and to promise her, I would begin to take down the walls that stood in her path.

See Ronnie’s Out of My Head piece:  Where the Wild Things Were

8 thoughts on “Confronting Ourselves: Where the Wild Things Are

  1. Hah! I’m sitting here with a big smile on my face, next to my beloved copy of Where the Wild Things Are. Yes…Max sure did look them unblinkingly in the eyes and find out they were not so fearsome after all. How wonderful.

    Namaste.

  2. That’s true about the past – there seem to be
    people who dwell on it too much and people
    who don’t look at it long enough to process
    it. I guess a happy medium’s called for here,
    as with a lot of things.

  3. Ronnie: even if it is not coincidence, it would be silly to overlook the signfigance. Imagine that…you too had the book handy. I inserted a link to your post, your own version on Where the Wild Things Are…

    Paul: Greetings! Glad you stopped in. How true – the happy medium, the balance, always comes back around and resonates. We checked your site and plan to stop back in…looks like you have a book soon to be published…

  4. Namaste. Thank you. So true.
    There is a point where excavating
    the past and overthinking it is
    more hindering than healing. We
    must all learn to identify that
    point.

    This lovely post is a necessary
    reminder to thank, liberate, and
    honor the Divine child within us
    and allow her guidance to remind
    us when the point of hinderance
    or healing is upon us.

    I love it. It’s about endings
    and beginnings. Both necessary
    things.

  5. (MotherWinter): Yes, you are so right, it is about both beginnings and endings and how necessary they are! It comes back around again!

    (ToBeMe): Greetings! It is a wonderful book isn’t it? The illustrations are so vivid, even without the book in front of me, I can see the story…

  6. Isn’t St. Jude the patron saint of lost causes? I seem to remember my mom burying a statue of St. Jude in the flower bed of a house that wasn’t selling fast enough. It sold!

    Our fears are all related to our past. And the reason the Past is called ‘the past’, is because it doesn;t exist anymore. We’ll keep chewing over old wounds until the wound is healed. Until we release the ‘negative’ charge surrounding the issue.

    There is an interesting functionality of Light, that Dark doesn’t have. I can send Light into Darkness and dispel it but I can’t send Darkness into Light and dispel it. Light and Dark are not equal.

    Here’s something to try:

    Whatever the fear, call it out. Make an appointment. Say, ‘I challenge you. Be here at such and such a time to face me.’

    And it will never show up.

    Because the only wedge Darkness has, is our belief that’s its equal in Power to the Light. And it isn’t.

  7. (((Sue))) Lovely St. Jude is the patron of miracles, so yes, I would say lost causes falls right in…most of us, put a statute of St. Joseph in the ground and then argue if it needs to be rightside up, upside down, to the east or west….hmmm, perhaps just placing a statute of St. Jude with pure faith and expectation in the ground would be better…

    How very interesting to make an appointment with fears and call them out, that again is a test of strength and faith…to believe they will not appear. How does that figure in with predominant thought to ignore or avoid contemplating the negative? By discharging the charge?

Leave a Reply

