It’s ok to ask and ask again…

This is what I saw today, in a Catholic message, it’s ok to ask and ask again.

You don’t have to say, no, it’s not my time, millions have it worse than me, you don’t have to say, oh, hi God, I’m just stopping in to see how you are, because really, You and I know I really shouldn’t be asking for anything.

Rather, I saw what I wanted to see today, and perhaps that’s the only way I’ll ever be able to see, my way.

Taken from: Medjugorje.org

The Catholic Calendar for Sunday, July 29, 2007
Seventeenth Sunday in Ordinary Time

Scripture from today’s Liturgy of the Word:
Genesis 18:20-32
Psalm 138:1-2, 2-3, 6-7, 7-8
Colossians 2:12-14
Luke 11:1-13

A reflection on today’s Sacred Scripture:

I
remember a student from Italy who attended Wadhams Hall Seminary in Ogdensburg, NY, many years ago. He was quite unaccustomed to the ways of Americans. When he tried to bargain over the price of a comb at the local pharmacy, the manager almost threw him out! Americans aren’t as used to bargaining over small purchases as Europeans are.

God seems to encourage bargaining in today’s First Reading. Abraham is disturbed when he learns that the Lord plans to destroy the evil city of Sodom. After all, he knows that his nephew Lot and his wife have not given in to the sinful deeds of their neighbors. He succeeds in getting God to spare the city “for the sake of ten just men!”

Jesus not only allows us to bargain with God, He actively encourages us to do so. After teaching His apostles how to pray in the beautiful words we know as the Lord’s Prayer, He urges His followers not to give up if at first the Father doesn’t seem to be listening. To paraphrase, He says, “Don’t give up, keep knocking! Do you think my Father would refuse anything to His children?

It’s an important lesson that we often forget!

– Msgr. Paul Whitmore — email: pwhitmore29(at)yahoo(dot)com”

I added the emphasis, the underline above, to share with you where my thought came from…I look forward to hearing where it leads you to…………

________________________

12 thoughts on “It’s ok to ask and ask again…

  1. Ever noticed that bartering/bargaining is not the same as extending freely?

    What? Did we spell ‘celibate’ incorrectly? Should we have been spelled it ‘sell a bit’? As in barter and bargain?

    Is God a whore who’s love is given only in exchange for something?

    What does God ‘need’ anyway? What’s MORE then ‘All That Is’?

    As I understand it, the directive to destroy Sodom was due to so many being infected with STD’s that ‘God’ didhn;t want it spreading to the rest of the races.

    Didn’t work, did it?

    So much for Omnipotence….

  2. I was once told tht God never says no in answer to a prayer: He usually gives one of three answers:

    1. Yes.
    2. Not yet.
    3. I’ve got something better for you.

    Peace!

  3. ((Pilgrim))

    We laughed out loud at your response. So True. The odd thing is, we offered a prayer to Mary before posting from a site dedicated to Her, and then we received your comment, a link to your site, which is a gift.

    Blessings.

  4. Ask ourselves, what do we expect? When we ‘pray’ do we do so with an attitude that every single things we ask for, will be granted? Or is there doubt? What are WE imagining when we’re asking? If WE were the ‘god’ we’re praying to, what kind of God are we when it comes to ourselves? And half the time at least, do we truly know what it is we’re really asking for, when we ask?

    I know a lot in Hindsight.

    Ever pondered where our head is if our hind is in sight?

  5. ooops….

    p.s. If our attitude is based on ‘God’ being conditional, then we would have cause for doubts about getting what we asked for. If our attitude is based on God being UNconditional, then we know we’re getting exqactly what we’re asking for. There’s simply a translation problem between what we think we’re asking for and, what God thinks we asked for. Spirit doesn’t hear the word ‘not’.

  6. I agree, with a pure heart we should continue to ask for what we want. We are told to lower our expectations in so many ways. We have to re-learn how to ask for what we want.

  7. Hummmm this was very thought provoking, S.E. 🙂 The reason I say that is because in the teaching of the faith I was raised in, and again with the whole “The Secret”, they emphasize asking only once, and then – believe you have ALREADY received what you have asked for. In fact, we are to act ‘as if’…

    But I’ve often asked repeatedly for the same thing…I actually thought it was a show of weak faith – like I didn’t think God had heard me the first (or second or third! LOL) Times 🙂

    Thank you for posting this today. It struck a good chord with me! 🙂

    Oh! BTW, I haven’t read the Awakening to Oneness book! I just got an email about it today….so I hope to add that to my list soon. Are you enjoying it?

  8. Reading these comments adds a lot to the post. I agree with pilgrim completely. I usually phrase a prayer request for what I think I need or “something better” or just generally that everything resolves itself quickly, harmoniously and in perfect accordance with the Divine plan.

    If a prayer is looked at in that light and held with faith, then we can never believe the answer is “no”.

  9. All….

    Wonderful. Your interaction and comments are so rewarding.

    I think that there is an element which cannot be ignored, the element of faith. What does that mean and how is it incorporated?

    I think we have to be ok without knowing all the right questions and all the right answers. Now, that’s a very big statement for me as a “searcher”, because I do believe all knowledge is within all of us and is forgotten or repressed.

    Faith then? Perhaps the simple belief that we know more than we realize, giving it up then, perhaps, it also the willingness to accept the response.

Leave a Reply

