Serendipity lead me down a garden path

Serendipity.

Serendipity lead me down a garden path.

Sunday evening I wrote about books and the unwillingness or the inability to part with favorites. I composed a list. I added a link to the BBC news regarding mules carrying books to remote regions of Venezuela, a four-legged mobile library they called it. I was spurred to write about the books I could not do without by the mere thought of what it would be like, to be someone else, to have to have mules bring me my books.

You see, I am a spoiled reader. I have the unfortunate habit of forgetting titles and yes, authors, but remembering the feel of the words within stories so it makes it difficult to read many books again; however, I need to be able to touch those books, to have the feeling come through their spines to mine.

So I was humbled to see the mules carrying the books, the gratitude, the inspiration, offered and received, how many times would they read the same books again, but do so with gratitude.

 

Venezuela’s four-legged mobile libraries

A university in Venezuela is using a novel method to take books into remote communities and encourage people to read. As James Ingham reports, the scheme is proving a great success.

The village children love reading the books that the mules bring

Enlarge Image

Chiquito and Cenizo greet me with a bit of a snort and a flick of the tail.

Mules are too tough to bother being sweet. They do a hard job which no other animal or human invention can do as well.

But these mules are rather special.”

BBC News

As a result of this, I went to where I keep some of my books, I looked through and began a list as to what books I could not do without. I have a busy household and mistyped in my list. Instead of writing “The Sunflower”, I wrote, “The Sunflower Houses”, and received a response from someone on behalf of the author, Sharon Lovejoy, as to the difference between the titles. Me, a lover of words, should certainly appreciate that…and because of that, I have found a vast and rich new resource for parents and children, teaching the respect and love needed between all of us.

Without further ado, I introduce…. the webpage for: Sharon Lovejoy, author of The Sunflower Houses…  

Leave a Reply

