Wavering of Faith, it’s not just for the weak hearted: Mother Teresa

This morning, my brain was wandering and I realized that the energy of my search, my frenzied search to not only have all the answers at once, but to have the most simple of all answers at once, in regard to faith and spirituality, has slowed down.

I have a faith in God and always have for some reason. I no longer even know why except it is a part of me.

I do not believe in any one religion being the only right religion. I believe in the path of the human heart.

For some reason, the last few weeks, I feel less resistance, less need to struggle. Now that doesn’t mean I’m not still searching, remaining open and pausing when I see what I consider to be signs of other things that I don’t know, maybe can’t know, until I evolve in some other way, some other time.

In the meantime, I’m going to let my heart be the guide and not try to be right or know it all, and not be so hard on myself for not moving ahead in this evolution faster.

I’m going to go day by day and see the small miracles and welcome new revelations and love with an open heart doing the things I must and the things I enjoy.

I find it timely that this morning, Ronnie over at OutofmyHead sent a link to a news story she knew I would enjoy on Mother Teresa and I felt compelled to share it with the rest of you.

Letters Reveal Mother Teresa’s Secret

CBS News

Posted: 2007-08-24 10:40:51

Filed Under: World News

(Aug. 24) In life, she was an icon for believers of God’s work on Earth. Her ministry to the poor of Calcutta was a world-renowned symbol of religious compassion. She was awarded the Nobel Peace Prize.

Photo Gallery: ‘Please Forgive Me’

AOL News Photo - 16315: photo 3AP

The nun, right, ministers to the poor in Calcultta, India, in 1979. “Where is my faith?” she wrote after starting work there. “Even deep down … there is nothing but emptiness and darkness. … If there be God — please forgive me.”

 

See also: Time Online

8 thoughts on “Wavering of Faith, it’s not just for the weak hearted: Mother Teresa

  1. From your comments I take it “peace” isn’t something you’re used to feeling? Like being ‘at peace’ within?

    But you’re experiencing it…WONDER where that’s coming from? rofl

    Mother Teresa was an Initiate of high degree. She would simply choose where she was going to go next. People would tell her “But no, we can’t go there, there’s civil war. No one is being allowed through the borders.” She would ignore them and go her own way. By the time she got to the border, all warring factions had conveniently decided to stop for a short while. So she ALWAYS got where she was going.

  2. ps. Wrestling with our own demons is one of the steps in the process. Just like ‘Jesus’ did in the desert with ‘his’.

    Claiming our own demons is the prerequisite for dealing with them.

    Our fears are our own. As are our doubts. As are all the rest of our dense emotions. It is futile to try to seperate ourselves from our own demons but, it is also the habitual pattern we’ve all been taught.

  3. I love your attitude and your thought process.

    Yes, everyone has moments where they question there faith. This is not uncommon. Great for everyone to be aware of. Thanks for sharing this.

  4. Wow. I’m busy grooving on the fact that Ronnie Ann sent you this link this morning and you posted it, as I posted about Mother Teresa today before I came by here and read your post, although it’s unrelated to this story. I wasn’t aware of this story.

    It’s OK if Mother Teresa had doubts and a crisis of faith. Everyone does. Even the most enlightened. Even the sages and saints. The most significant aspect is, she never let that stop her from doing the extraordinary work she did. The message in this story is a wonderful one…that you can have a crisis of faith, but never let it stop you from the calling of your higher or highest consciousness.

    Thank you for posting this. I admire Mother Teresa all the more now. I appreciate your lovely thoughts about your own journey and where you are now, in this moment, as well. Best Blessings, MW

  5. I loved this post, SE! It’s so open and revelatory of your own thought evolution. I especially love being reminded just how human doubt is and how when we look at those we admire like Mother Theresa, we realize they are not so far from us at the core. What do they say about courage? Something like “it’s about going on anyway despite doubt and fear.” Thank you for taking a mere suggestion and turning it into something so inspiring.

  6. Peace my friends. I must say, if Mother Teresa could not figure out the world and still soldiered on….well….I guess I can always do with a role model!

    And oh yeah, MWM: love that quote about the Dali Lama and the empty box!

    And Ronnie: thanks for knowing I would want to see this piece on Mother Teresa.

  7. SurfaceEarth,
    I’m on board with the day by day, heart thing. It’s the only way to have faith in God that doesn’t assume to know everything. The only truly humble approach, if you ask me. We could all use a huge dose of humility, me foremost! 🙂

  8. MOI: “humility”, yes, you nailed it, humility I think leads to a quiet dignity. What a slippery slope for some of us to get there, she says, sliding back down the mountain!

Leave a Reply

