Laptops: give and get?

BBC News reports

Partial news story follows…

“$100 laptop’ to sell to public

By Jonathan Fildes
Science and technology reporter, BBC News


Students at a school in Nigeria


Computer enthusiasts in the developed world will soon be able to get their hands on the so-called “$100 laptop”.
The organisation behind the project has launched the “give one, get one” scheme that will allow US residents to purchase two laptops for $399 (£198).

One laptop will be sent to the buyer whilst a child in the developing world will receive the second machine

The G1G1 scheme, as it is known, will offer the laptops for just two weeks, starting on the 12 November.

The offer to the general public comes after the project’s founder admitted that concrete orders from the governments of developing nations had not always followed verbal agreements

Nicholas Negroponte told the New York Times: “I have to some degree underestimated the difference between shaking the hand of a head of state and having a cheque written.

“And yes, it has been a disappointment.”

Walter Bender, head of software development at One Laptop per Child (OLPC), told the BBC News website: “From day one there’s been a lot of interest expressed in having some way of people in the developed world participate in the programme.”

4 thoughts on “Laptops: give and get?

  1. I certainly will not participate. There are children in THIS country who don’t have the books they need. I’m all for cleaning up our own back yard, before we make pretenses about cleaning up anyone else’s.

  2. Thanks Surface Earth. I guess I agree with the above posters about this project. I am glad you wrote about it. What Sue Ann wrote kinda stuck in my head and it’s something I always thought about – why we’re so busy worrying about other countries when our own is in so much trouble …. but…..I’ve changed my views now that I’m older and I see things alot differently now I am more aware of the world as a whole.

    What say you?

    I’ve been wandering around on blogs here and there and found a project that is basically a writing/blogging project aimed at “Stop Abuse” . It doesn’t matter what sort of abuse but check it out iffen you have time. I’m beginning to feel like I’m pushing it so I’m gonna stop. I’ve been trying to gather interest because I feel it’s worthy of attention and just might wind up helping some folks and organizations.

    Much love and peace.

    ~ RS ~

  3. Love the wide range of responses. Thank you all. It is hard to know what the solution, the true one is, but with hope and ACTION, who knows what we can all achieve?

    RubyShooz, you are more than welcome to stop in and comment on something that can benefit us all…I’m going to jump over now to the information you have graciously provided in regard to “Stop Abuse”. Never a better time than the present moment to wipe that word off the face of this earth……………………….

Leave a Reply

