Brave New World: Christianity & Scientology

I stop at this point. Following the title above.

Christianity and Scientology?

Truly?

Has this made CNN headlines?

Yes,

it,

has.

CNN reports:

TAMPA, Florida (CNN) — Some Christian congregations, particularly in lower income, urban areas, are turning to an unlikely source for help — the Church of Scientology.

 

 

 

art.rev.charles.kennedy.jpg

 

Rev, Charles Kennedy uses Scientology founder L. Ron Hubbard’s book during a Friday night sermon.

Scientologists do not worship God, much less Jesus Christ. The church has seen plenty of controversy and critics consider it a cult. So why are observant Christians embracing some its teachings?

Two pastors who spoke recently with CNN explained that when it comes to religion, they still preach the core beliefs of Christianity. But when it comes to practicing what they preach in a modern world, borrowing from Scientology helps.

The Rev. Charles Kennedy, of the Glorious Church of God in Christ, a Pentecostal church in Tampa, Florida, and the Rev. James McLaughlin, of the Wayman Chapel African Methodist Episcopal Church in Houston, Texas, are among the theological hybrids.

They say they are not scared off by programs with ties to a church that critics say has aggressive recruiting, secretive ways and rigid theology. As men of God rooted in Christian values, they do not see Scientology as a threat to their faith, but rather as a tool to augment it.”

 

Of note:

1. Scientology not seen to be a threat; and

2. Not scared of aggressive recruiting.

That alone is enough to make headlines. What intrigues me though is that men of their own religion, with proscribed rules of dogma, have stepped outside of the lines. I applaud thinking outside of the lines.

Since I first wrote this post last evening, I have spent some time thinking about it and reading Ronnie’s comment below.

I agree that there can be danger in any organization that seeks to oppress and wrongly manipulate. I say “wrongly” manipulate, because I do think, consciously or unconsciously, all religions and many organizations, to a degree manipulate when they focus on only one way, one system of belief, exclusivity.

What I do embrace is moving beyond the lines, “getting out of the box”, and learning from a multitude of what is around us.

Namaste.

8 thoughts on “Brave New World: Christianity & Scientology

  1. “Scientology not seen to be a threat”

    Oh my lord! I must respectfully and from first-hand knowledge disagree strongly. Each person of course should decide for himself or herself, but there are many layers to what on the surface seems benign. I prefer not to attack. Just wanted it known that it’s worth looking closely before assuming it’s harmless.

    That opinion expressed, I thank you, SE, as always for an interesting post. You always find things to chew on.

    Namaste!

  2. Found you on a random Google search. I’ve been a Scientologist for over 20 years. Did volunteering in muslim Indonesia after the tsunami – did not convert anyone, just helped folks in need. Worked hand-in-hand with Muslim clerics. Did lots of volunteering in Mississippi and Louisiana as well, after Katrina. We worked closely with Baptist preachers. We’d deliver food and water, do grief-counseling as needed, and then if people wanted it we’d organize for a local Pastor to hold Mass.
    In my opinion, Interfaith efforts are blessed.
    In terms of Scientology, I don’t “sell” my philosophy to anyone. To each his own. But we’re not the bugaboo or weirdos that the media makes us out to be. My wife and I have a great marriage, two great kids, attend PTA meetings and send our kid to the local Boys & Girls club; we volunteer in the community. We have good values. And we’re both Scientologists.
    So sure, get informed, but hopefully from sources that advocate tolerance and understanding, not from haters or bigots.

    And PS, the book “The Way To Happiness” (referenced in the article) is actually not even a Scientology text – it’s a generic book on universal moral values written by Ron Hubbard independently of any religious leaning. (See http://www.twth.org)

    best,
    Greg
    Scientologist and proud of it
    http://www.liveandgrow.org

  3. I agee at first glance, this does seem very odd, however, I agree, there is much to be said for opening their church up to other ideas from other teachers. I join you in applauding them.

  4. I agee at first glance, this does seem very odd, however, I agree, there is much to be said for opening their church up to other ideas from other teachers. I join you in applauding them.

  5. Oh, looky!!

    The energy of ONENESS at work 🙂

    I was just talking to an old friend who is a devout Christian (and she didn’t even hang up the phone when I told her what I believe now!lol) She’s in the Assembly of God denomination.

    ANYWAY, she was telling me about how her Pastor in Las Vegas has been talking alot lately about wanting to see all religions come together around a common cause.

    I suggest PEACE and UNITY 🙂

  6. People are turning away from fundamental religious grups in droves, just as a few decades ago, people ran to groups in droves.

    The common link is that our Souls are driving us to find what we are seeking, even if it is thorugh a process of elimination.

  7. This post brings a smile to my face.

    I’m happy to hear preachers say they can look to something outside their own faith and not feel threatened.

    That we can learn from more than one source without being “wrong”.

    I’m glad I saw this! Thanks for posting.

Leave a Reply

