Challenge Beliefs: Forgiveness

I read a post daring the readers to break out and expand our consciousness and awareness:

Sibbia on “I Don’t Believe In…”.

She invited me and a few others (and doubtless the entire world if all are so inclined) to join in and challenge a belief.

Hmmmm.

Shouldn’t be so hard, should it?

I challenge many things, I challenge the appearance or the illusion of truth. I challenge perception. I challenge myself.

I find that many of us have been taught to not forgive, for if we do, we are then fools or soon to be a ready-made fool. I find that we are not taught that the lack of forgiveness many times hurts only ourselves and always in fact hurts somewhere internally. That is a given. That is a “fact”.

When we do not forgive, we take up room within ourselves, we create labyrinths with mirrored walls, pitfalls, dungeons and all sorts of traps that we have hidden the locks to, even though we were the original locksmiths.

I received a lovely parable yesterday, and share it with you today, to challenge your belief, and sometimes my own, on forgiveness.

I leave it below for you, in its entirety as I received it. I do not know the author of the piece.

Stone


TWO FRIENDS WERE WALKING
THROUGH THE DESERT
DURING SOME POINT OF THE
JOURNEY, THEY HAD AN
ARGUMENT; AND ONE FRIEND
SLAPPED THE OTHER ONE
IN THE FACE


THE ONE WHO GOT SLAPPED
WAS HURT, BUT WITHOUT
SAYING ANYTHING,
WROTE IN THE SAND

TODAY MY BEST FRIEND

SLAPPED ME IN THE FACE

THEY KEPT ON WALKING,
UNTIL THEY FOUND AN OASIS,
WHERE THEY DECIDED
TO TAKE A BATH

THE ONE WHO HAD BEEN
SLAPPED GOT STUCK IN THE
MIRE! AND STARTED DROWNING,
BUT THE FRIEND SAVED HIM.

AFTER HE RECOVERED FROM
THE NEAR DROWNING,
HE WROTE ON A STONE:


“TODAY MY BEST FRIEND
SAVED MY LIFE”

THE FRIEND WHO HAD SLAPPED
AND SAVED HIS BEST FRIEND
ASKED HIM, “AFTER I HURT YOU,
YOU WROTE IN THE SAND AND NOW,
YOU WRITE ON A STONE, WHY?”

THE FRIEND REPLIED
“WHEN SOMEONE HURTS US
WE SHOULD WRITE IT DOWN
IN SAND, WHERE WINDS OF
FORGIVENESS CAN ERASE IT AWAY.
BUT, WHEN SOMEONE DOES
SOMETHING GOOD FOR US,
WE MUST ENGRAVE IT IN STONE
WHERE NO WIND
CAN EVER ERASE IT”

LEARN TO WRITE
YOUR HURTS IN
THE SAND AND TO
CARVE YOUR
BENEFITS IN STONE.

T HEY SAY IT TAKES A
MINUTE TO FIND A SPECIAL

PERSON,

AN HOUR TO APPRECIATE
THEM,
A DAY
TO LOVE THEM,

BUT THEN
AN ENTIRE LIFE
TO FORGET THEM.

SEND THIS TO
THE PEOPLE YOU’LL NEVER
FORGET.

I JUST DID.

IF YOU DON’T
SEND IT TO ANYONE,
IT MEANS YOU’RE IN A
HURRY AND THAT YOU’VE
FORGOTTEN YOUR FRIENDS.


TAKE THE TIME TO LIVE!

DO NOT VALUE THE THINGS
YOU HAVE IN YOUR LIFE, BUT VALUE
WHO
YOU HAVE IN
YOUR LIFE!


AND IF I HAPPEN TO GET IT BACK,
THEN I KNOW MY PLACE IN YOUR LIFE


“Be kinder than necessary, for everyone you meet is fighting some kind of battle.”




I HOPE this message finds you in good health

To God be the Glory for the great things He has done!

6 thoughts on “Challenge Beliefs: Forgiveness

  1. It takes some imagination but…in all instances and occasions, imagine the ‘other’ person is yourself. Imagine that at some time in history and in some place, ‘you’ were the one that was behaving the same way, in the same manner and fashion.

    And from that perspective, CHOOSE how you’d like to be treated.

    I realize when we’re stuck in duality/polarity thinking, we can’t ‘see’ it. However, when it comes to Forgiveness, the one we’re really Forgiving is ourselves.

    Giving it, means we have it.

    Forgiving is for giving.

  2. ((Ronnie)): 🙂 :0 glad you are a believer in the properties of sand. I have always enjoyed doing three things by the sand: 1. gymnastics and letting the tide cover my prints; and 2. drawing huge faces and letting the tide carry them away; and 3. searching and finding sand dollars before the tide takes them away. Much peace to you.

    Tobeme: I have been influenced greatly by many of your posts. Namaste.

    Sibbia: ahhhh, timing is everything isn’t it? I have found so also when I have tripped over a timely post on your blog world.

    Sue Ann: sometimes being ahead of the crowd, being around the corner of the bend, gives us the insight of the Monday Night Quarterback. But to those who have not yet rounded, it is of no presence. Have you found that?

    Grace: Oneness girl, oneness. Giving you a song: “Nightingale, sing us a song…of a love that once belonged…Nightingale….tell me your tale…was your journey far too long…does it seem that I am looking for an answer…for a question I can’t ask….”. Peace onto you.

Leave a Reply

