MEME on Books

Miss. Harleyquinn tagged Sorrow who tagged me.

Now, I never feel obligated to do the “tag” thing or the “meme” thing; however, certain ones I enjoy, this one I like for its random ability to build community. Oh yeah, also because I love books.

Here goes:

Rules:

1. Pick up the nearest book (of at least 123 pages).
2. Open the book to page 123.
3. Find the fifth sentence.
4. Post the next three sentences.
5. Tag five people.

 

Nearest book: The Expected One by Kathleen McGowan.

Page 123….picking up book….looking for 123….at page 123, going to the fifth sentence…(hmmmm, not fifth line, fifth sentence. If the page starts in the middle of a sentence, does that count as the first one? Intuitively guided, I will now make my own rules and say yes.)…..on to type the next three sentences….

 

Maureen didn’t want to risk that. Sinclair was too important a piece of her puzzle.

Peter eased the rental car from the road and through the enormous iron gates.”

 

Now, just in case my interpretation of counting sentences is off, I offer you the other version:

 

Maureen didn’t want to risk that. Sinclair was too important a piece of her puzzle.

Peter eased the rental car from the road and through the enormous iron gates. Maureen noted as they passed that the gates were decorated with large gold fleurs-de-lis intertwined with vines of grapes–or, perhaps, blue apples.”

 

TAG……………

gypsy-heart

enreal

tumel

soulmeetsworld

the naked soul: tobeme

9 thoughts on “MEME on Books

  1. Hmmm Very compelling three lines, I wonder if this is the meme to get you to read more?lol , how could that be bad?

  2. I know you didn’t tag me, and I know you know I am not one for memes, but this is fun because it has numbers! (I love numbers.) So here’s mine, using your interpretation of the rules:

    “”Ah always chooses mah rations.” He kept right on plowing through the pile uh chicken. So Tea Cake got mad.”

    (from Zora Neale Hurston’s Their Eyes Were Watching God)

    Hah! Just three lines and yet they can hook you into wanting to know more. Cool. Since I tagged myself, I’ll leave it there. (-;

    Thanks, SE, for letting me play.

  3. OOOO-Ronnie! Yes, you know why I didn’t tag you, now I know I can take MEMEs, add a number component and you are on board. Love that book, she is one incredible writer.

  4. Enreal…thank you for joining! I did enjoy and am still contemplating your own contribution.

    Gypsy-heart! Always welcome to break the rules! Thanks for participating, going to check it out!

Leave a Reply

