The Art of Letters

I thought today, driving home,

ah,

sigh….the art of letters.

I don’t know how many of you can comprehend what I mean, and I certainly do not mean that from either an intellectual, emotional or spiritual capacity, I mean…….well, let’s see how it unfolds.

I mean,

the edges of my sweater, a black one of course, bought by my daughter for me, clearance Calvin, stretching across the mid-span of my palm, or in reverse, the outerside of the top of my hands, not quite at my knuckles.

I think, of fires, whether mine or others, and the timelessness of time before the advent of copiers and fax machines and cell phones you could carry without rupturing your back and the internet, remember the blue screen of seemingly nothingness?

And then bam:  the virtual world and no way to turn back.

So it made me think,

ask,

remember “letters”?

You took some paper,

maybe loose leaf,

maybe left over paper and you began

the bravest of us,

started on that creamy

stationary that was stashed in a drawer for the most important of occassions.

We sat,

we thought,

we looked around,

we walked away,

we came back,

we wrote,

and wrote,

and crossed out,

then tried to not make it look like a cross out,

and oh please,

don’t get me started on “white out”,

they actually changed the brush for a sponge foam type thing

that does not work,

and we wrote.

We often started again,

the first letter to the left or right of us,

and began again,

realizing we had more cross outs

than readable spaces,

and this would repeat itself,

over several moments,

hours or days…

but we thought,

we reflected and man

we waited before sealing the envelope and sticking on that stamp

that was not ever escalating

and walking somewhere

to find the blue metal beautiful box

on the corner

calling our name.

Some of us even circled it several times and then walked away,

pocketing the letter,

folding it,

saying,

you know,

maybe some other day.

But we did not hit send,

we didn’t have the ability to have our impulse cross out our heart.

I’m missing letter writing my friends.

I want to use that blue box on the corner,

I want my time to dream between the spaces.

Abundant blessings to you.  I send my heart out within an envelope and am happy to wait for a return!

Peace.

8 thoughts on “The Art of Letters

  1. Good post SE!

    My Father gave me this advice years ago..never put in writing something you don’t want read…and if it is a letter of “heart”, wait 24 hours before you mail it. :O

    Of course, the computer has it’s own risks. For example “send” or “publish” can be scary…I’ve accidentally sent or published a few times. hee, hee

    My Grandmother wrote wonderful letters..they were simple letters just about her day and what was going on. She’s the one I talk about sometimes, the 101 year old. She really does not approve of the computer….she thinks we have lost the personal touch. I can’t say that I totally disagree..yet I think the internet has opened new and wonderful ways of communicating.
    for example….
    Your “heart” is one of the amazing things the internet brought to me..I seriously doubt I would have ever met you otherwise. What a loss that would be for me!

  2. What an interesting realization that you had! I only say that cause I thought of something similar the other day. It was provoked by a radio DJ’s rant about sending cards in thoughts of someone else, when we are only using the medium to send something as a way to glorify ourselves. For example, sending a Christmas Newsletter. It’s a kind jesture, but there’s really a different perspective I never thought of.

    There was a time that sending someone a letter was meaningful. And it was more than a joy to receive. It meant they thought of us enough to take a pause in their day to send that thought. Because of that dj’s rant I decided that I’m going to make a concious effort to think of the receiver more when I send out a letter.

    I really want you to read the post. I think you’d be able to understand the different perspective. maybe not agree, but I feel you’re wise to comprehend what I mean. But you know I’m a closet witch 😉 so, that site is under a different alias. if you’d like send me an email and I’ll send you the link.

    Thank you for your post!!

  3. I agree with gypsy-heart. The internet is wonderful. Otherwise I wouldn’t be reading your posts!

    Even so…

    I sent a letter to my wife Chris to let her know I would like to go out with her. I posted it one night, after the last collection. The next day, I sat through a meeting, a few chairs away from her, knowing that the letter was being brought slowly but inexorably to her door by the postal service.

    You don’t get that with email…

  4. Ah…………………………..you three have enlivened the beginning of my thought and brought it to light. How do I thank you? Wonderful, wonderful, wonderful! I can walk through the stories you have painted for us here, and thank you, for knowing, the above was unfinished.

  5. Wow. . . the dreaded send button after writing feverously in dispair or anger. Gone are the days when we had some time to contemplate before sending . . . I do miss the letter for that purpose . . . and the spirit that comes from using pen and paper. Being a legal secretary, and a medical secretary through out the years, and you being a lawyer; I must say I DO NOT want to ever go back to the typewriter; whether memory or not – the white out days (We could not use white out on legal papers – had to start all over! – NEVER AGAIN – in the professional world would I trade in the computer or email. lol. PLL, CordieB.

  6. Well Cordie! Let me tell you, I have recently been blessed by “real” letters, the receipt of same and the sending. And Lord! How beautiful. I’m loving it.

    Funny Cordie. I sometimes do want to go back as an attorney to a time before now. That’s a story for a separate email!

  7. I write letters all the time… I have written about my heart, my soul, my emotions, my guilt… I have written surprise letters… just to say hi… I have letters I was too afraid to send. they remain in a box, on a shelf in my mind and in my heart… and I have letters that I have sent… I wish I never had… there is an art of letters… thank you for reminding me

  8. We offer ourselves clues all the time, in what we wear, the choices we make, in what we say. Our mind and body are encouraging us to review and rethink the lives we lead and how we preceive them. It is part of a process of teaching ourselves though others and in how we choose to view our lives. No sch thing as coincidence.

Leave a Reply

