Love Miami Style

Update: Churches and the love of God without walls

In the news, at least for some of us that still troll negative publicity, is the story of a Florida priest, sharing love with a woman.

Not a problem right?

Except that he made a ‘promise’ to not engage in certain types of love.

I wish I could condemn him, or his partner, but I can’t. I can say, it is easier that if you can’t uphold a promise you previously made that you graciously excuse yourself from same and explain accordingly. But life as we know it is not conducive to forgiveness.

Let’s pretend for a moment that this young priest came out, went public and said I’m struggling here, I took a vow of celibacy but I have found myself grappling with a whole different dimension of God’s love that I never knew I would need to grapple with, despite same, I’m grappling with it and ask your forgiveness, your understanding, your assistance to learn in which way to progress.

No.

Not possible, because social media really doesn’t allow for this does it?

I could go on and on, but I won’t, I would rather hear from you and ask that you pray for the priest and his loved one to find their way.

Blessings,

S.E.

3 thoughts on “Love Miami Style

  1. I like Sorrow’s response. Beautifully said.

    In the end, it really is about love. Not to question anyone’s religion, but it’s so hard for me not to feel compassion when the two of them are basically asked to choose between the love of god and love of each other. Clearly, they want both. And I don’t blame them. I know religion has its reasons and we are often made stronger by hard choices, but I’m hoping one day soon we choose to allow priests and nuns to honor god while also honoring the beauty of physical love. I think it would only strengthen their ability to relate to their parishioners and the rest of this rapidly changing world.

    And while I’m at it, may I add that I look forward to the day when whatever any consenting adults do in the privacy of their bedrooms is not any of our business. I apologize to anyone if what I said feels like blasphemy. Just part of my vision of a more tolerant and loving world.

    Always an interesting topic here, SE. Hope you are well. 😉

    Ronnie Ann

Leave a Reply

